International Society for Computational Biology

Overview: The Student Council Symposiums 2016

Members of the ISCB Student Council (SC) are organizing three student symposiums in 2016 that offer bioinformaticians with an excellent opportunity to present their research to an international audience and build a professional network. This article provides an overview of our upcoming symposiums for the year 2016:

Student Council Symposium (SCS) 2016


The ISCB Student Council Symposium is a yearly meeting for students and early-career scientists interested in computational biology, bioinformatics and related fields. This year, we have keynote lectures by John Quackenbush and Janet Thornton, leaders in the fields of cancer systems biology and structural bioinformatics, respectively. We will also have flash presentations: a series of 5 minute talks to quickly introduce attendees to a wide range of research activities done by the presenters. The Symposium will also have social events for participants in order to encourage a collaborative environment. The SCS social event has been providing a great opportunity to foster friendly connections and exchange ideas between various academic groups giving rise to potential future collaborations and key events for the Student SC as well as the bioinformatics community.

Date: July 8 2016

Location: Orlando, Florida, USA


Key dates:

  • February 1, 2016 - Abstract Call Opens
  • May 13, 2016 - Abstract Call Closes
  • May 15, 2016 - Abstract Acceptance Notification
  • May 23, 2016 - Student Council Travel Fellowship Deadline
  • June 03, 2016 - Student Council Travel Fellowship Acceptance Notification
  • May 27, 2016 - Late Poster Submission Deadline
  • June 6, 2016 - Late Poster Acceptance Notification
  • July 8, 2016 - Student Council Symposium


  • Bart Cuypers - Chair
  • Ben Siranosian - Co-Chair

Organizing Committee:

  • Mehedi Hassan - Web Chair
  • Ashley Conrad - Finance Chair
  • Melissa Woghiren - Travel fellowship Chair
  • Nazeefa Fatima - Outreach Chair
  • Pankhuri Wanjari - Outreach Committee
  • Anupama Jigisha - Student Council's Executive Team Advisor

European Student Council Symposium (ESCS) 2016


The 4th European Student Council Symposium (ESCS) is taking place on Saturday, 3 September during ECCB 2016 in The Hague, Netherlands. The ESCS is also a forum for students and young researchers in the fields of computational biology and bioinformatics. Participants have the opportunity to present their work to an international audience, build a network within the computational biology community and develop important soft skills in an environment that fosters exchange of ideas and knowledge.

Date: September 3 2016

Location: The Hague, Netherlands


Key dates:

  • April 25, 2016 - Abstract Call Opens
  • June 24, 2016 - Abstract Call Closes
  • July 15, 2016 - Abstract Acceptance Notifications
  • July 22, 2016 - Late Poster Submission Closes
  • Aug 5, 2016 - Late Poster Acceptance Notifications
  • Aug 5, 2016 - Travel Fellowship Notifications
  • September 3, 2016 - European Student Council Symposium


  • Annika Jacobsen, chair
  • Kevin Schwahn, co-chair

Organizing Committee:

  • Susanne Hermans, Program Chair
  • Mehedi Hassan, Web Chair
  • Bart Cuypers, Travel Fellowship Chair
  • Nanne Aben, Finance Chair
  • Nazeefa Fatima, Outreach Chair
  • Farzana Rahman, Student Council's Executive Team Advisor

Latin American Student Council Symposium (LA-SCS) 2016


The 2nd Latin American Student Council Symposium (LA-SCS) 2016 will be held in conjunction with ISMB LA 2016 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The date of LA-SCS will be announced on the event website soon. The LA-SCS is a forum for students, post-docs, and PhD students in the fields of computational biology, and bioinformatics. Participants will have the opportunity to present their work to an international audience, and build a network within the Latin American community of computational biology, bioinformatics, and related fields.

Date: to be announced

Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina.


Key dates: to be announced


  • Alexander Monzon, chair
  • Javier Caseres Molina, co-chair

Organizing Committee

  • Pieter Meysman and Chinmay Kumar, Student Council's Executive Team Representatives